Hue to Hoi An

This is a very picture-heavy post – Vietnam, why you so pretty??

 photo P1020733_zpsfaa4f700.jpg

I got off the overnight train from Ha Noi at Hue.

 photo P1020734_zps081adba6.jpg
The train station at Hue

Please bear with my love of trains, railway tracks and train stations. This will probably happen in all the countries which I visit in the future.

I lingered a while at the train platform taking pictures and bidding goodbye to the amazing couple from the Netherlands I had met the day before.

When I exited the train station, a slight man of about 40 years old came running up with my name on a piece of paper.

 photo P1020735_zpse913461a.jpg
This is Mr Hieu, Boss-Man of the Hue Riders. Mr Hieu has been in this business for 12 years. And that is my backpack (in pink) tied up like some overgrown chicken on the back of his motorcycle. It stayed on the motorcycle for the whole trip.

I took a glance at the wheels of his motorcycle – they were made for stability, not speed. Good. I was relieved that I was not going to be riding with some speed daredevil for the whole day.

Mr Hieu has 3 children: a 21-year-old son who is the Hue Riders with him, an 18-year-old daughter who is going to attend university in Hue, and the youngest son – 11 years old. Mr Hieu works very hard because he needs to pay for his daughter’s education.

The ride from Hue to Hoi An took about 6 hours and cost USD$45. I had an add-on (USD$3) in Hue to visit King Tu Duc’s Tomb before heading to Hoi An. Mr Hieu had another client the next day who requested a trip from Hoi An to Hue.
6 hours on a motorcycle is no joke. I had sore butt muscles for half a day. I can’t imagine doing this for 2 days in a row.

 photo P1020736_zps585cc293.jpg
I finally got to use my Ray Bans!

King Tu Duc’s Tomb

 photo P1020776_zpsabe93667.jpg

This is possibly one of the most beautiful spots in Vietnam. Idyllic and tranquil, this place has 2 main areas – the tomb area and the temple area.

 photo P1020771_zps74d5d3f0.jpg
Symmetry is key in this place.

I wandered around the area for about an hour – this is really worth seeing if you are going to swing by Central Vietnam. There were even a small brood of chickens in the back of the area!

However, there were very few signs in the place. If you go without a tour guide (like me – Mr Hieu did not follow me into the tomb compound), you might be lost. Thank goodness for basic archaeology skills.

While wandering through the tomb area, I had one thought in my head:

 photo P1020765_zpsf5bb1f59.jpg

 photo P1020759_zps1705d68b.jpg

Why were broken Chinese porcelain pieces used to line the royal symbols at the tomb?

My knowledge of Vietnam is really lacking.

Hue to Hoi An

I was lucky – the sun was fully out and there were no clouds in the sky. It was a beautiful day to be out on a motorcycle ride.

 photo P1020783_zps09f21c39.jpg
Away we go!

 photo P1020786_zpsc38b8bf3.jpg
Houseboat village.

 photo P1020791_zps5a055a54.jpg
At the rice paddy field of the houseboat village.

Half an hour into the trip, Mr Hieu stopped beside a small inlet.
It was a houseboat village. Mr Hieu explained that only the poorest live in such houseboats. Their children do not have money to attend school. When asked about the cost of sending a kid to public primary school, Mr Hieu said it cost about USD$100 per year. A kindergarten costs more.
In contrast, maintaining a scooter cost 100,000 VND per year.

Someone up there has got his priorities mixed up.

The highlight of the trip was Hai Van Pass – and a motorcycle ride is the best way to travel between Hoi An and Hue. This is even better than being on the train because the motorcycle goes round and round the mountain. The same sight looks better from higher up.

I whipped my camera out and lost track of the number of pictures I snapped while on the back of the motorcycle.

 photo P1020811_zps7c30ad09.jpg

 photo P1020830_zpsad9f0f32.jpg
Many Caucasians rent their own motorcycles to ride this pass

 photo P1020852_zpsf5b10258.jpg

… And of course, the picture of myself:

 photo P1020840_zps7086fa12.jpg
Note the busload of tourists behind me.

Mr Hieu made a pit stop for me to stretch my muscles at an American bunker used during the Vietnam War. This bunker overlooks Da Nang.

 photo P1020854_zps4d611b6e.jpg

 photo P1020856_zpsf17d05b6.jpg

 photo P1020855_zpsc0afbfea.jpg
The city of Da Nang in the distance. You can see faint outlines of the shiny city buildings in the bottom right hand corner of the picture.

We rode into Da Nang and stopped for lunch at a local place Mr Hieu frequents often. I had 2 types of eggs, pork and vegetables. The meal cost me 35,000 VND – one of the cheapest meals I have had in Vietnam. The cheapest meal cost 15,000 VND for a small bowl of noodles in Hoi An.

Mr Hieu had rice… and nothing else. He explained that he becomes a vegetarian twice a month for religious reasons. I offered him some of my vegetables, but he declined. He says that the vegetables in Vietnam are usually stir-fried with fish sauce.

This explains why food is so delicious in Vietnam. I absolutely adore ♥ fish sauce.
Mr Hieu earned my respect in that point in time. It was a hard ride from Hue.

 photo P1020867_zpsdb5e804e.jpg
I am amused by the things I see left out to dry on the bushes/railway tracks/anything conveniently in the sun  in Southeast Asia.

 photo P1020882_zpsb292ac59.jpg
In Da Nang, heading towards Hoi An. BIG SHINY BUILDINGS!

We approach Hoi An, and I am greeted by amazing beaches:

 photo P1020890_zps8b47b089.jpg

… And the open fields.

 photo P1020900_zpsf08f8ff3.jpg

 photo P1020904_zps88d1e907.jpg

This marks the end of my 6-hour motorcycle ride with Mr Hieu. He takes me to my hostel in the centre of town and spends some time neatly rolling up the long elastic and bag he used for my backpack. He then zooms away, probably looking for a place to stay for the night before repeating the cycle the next day.

My butt muscles were very sore when I hauled my bag into my room, which was thankfully on the ground floor.

Temperature of the day: 24 Celsius degrees
Cost of trip: USD$48
Length of time on the motorcycle: About 7 hours, including pit stops
Areas of sunburnt skin: Upper chest, shoulders
Amount of aloe vera used on sunburnt skin: Liberal. Like it was free flow alcohol
Amount of regret for not putting on sun block (SPF 110!) on body: Moderate
Amount of time spent sitting gingerly on chairs after motorcycle ride: About half a day
Number of pictures taken on this motorcycle trip: 105 (excluding bad shots and those at King Tu Duc’s Tomb)

This entry was posted in Asia, Vietnam and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

