The Shwedagon.

Honestly, I felt the people at the Shwedagon Pagoda was more interesting than the structure.

Don’t get me wrong. It’s absolutely gorgeous, but sometimes looking at too much gold can hurt.
 photo P1010998_zps4931e404.jpg
Very, very shiny. All made of gold.

Shwedagon Pagoda is the one of the most important Buddhist monuments in the world, and Yangon was probably built around it. I will just post lots of pictures because I don’t think I can express myself adequately.

 photo P1010981_zpsbfbefdfb.jpg

 photo P1010994_zps70a09a1f.jpg

 photo P1020008_zpsa0cb8c22.jpg
The cleanup crew at 6pm

 photo P1020017_zpsc7185f24.jpg

 photo P1020023_zps853412e9.jpg

 photo P1020024_zps84a25eb2.jpg

 photo P1020027_zps7079debc.jpg

It is entirely possible that I may have taken the same pictures twice. You see, the beauty of the Shwedagon Pagoda is the ability of the pagoda to create new looks for itself depending how the light hits the structure.

I think I should learn from this pagoda.

I was sitting in the same spot for a couple of hours waiting for the sunset and watching the passing light and people. Besides nuns, monks and other foreign travellers like me, there are actual religious tourists from Thailand. They come in large groups bearing gifts.

Of course, they take pictures of themselves at Shwedagon with their iPads.

If you are thinking of going to the Shwedagon (or any of the smaller pagodas in Myanmar), the following tips may be useful to you:

      1. Bring your own plastic bag and a bag big enough to contain your footwear.

      This eliminates the need to get out by the same gate you entered from. Also, if you entrust your footwear to the people at the gate, you may have to make a donation to them for taking care of your shoes.

      2. Bring a hat and a book if you are waiting for the twilight hour.
      3. If you are used to the proper behaviour of monks in Thailand, please take note that the monks in Yangon behave differently from those in Thailand. They will actively go up to foreign females to talk to them. I was quite taken aback because I learnt that monks shun female contact. Some of the younger monks/nuns will also openly ask for money, which is not standard monk/nun beheaviour.

The obligatory shot at famous monuments.

 photo P1010978_zps0a80b5ab.jpg

Then, I tried out a new toy (I actually got something similar, not the Quik Pod) and snapped a few selfies. I never take pictures of myself while on holiday since I travel alone often. The selfies may turn out weird. They still look weird, though. The one below is the one that looks the least awkward.

 photo P1010993_zps45f17489.jpg

I think the Shwedagon Pagoda is somewhere I would go to just once. There are more things to see in other parts of Myanmar. (I am already planning my next trip to Myanmar, which will include Mandalay, Maymyo and Hsipaw.)

This entry was posted in Asia, Myanmar and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Shwedagon.

  1. lmjapan says:

    Wow, how beautiful is this temple, just incredible!

    • Therese says:

      I know right? It’s not just beautiful – there’s a serene, out-of-this-world quality about this temple that other temples may not have. It’s like things in the world don’t matter. The only thing that matters is your existence in this temple, right here, right now. ♥

      • lmjapan says:

        That was such a beautiful way of putting it. I know exactly how you feel….sometimes when I’m traveling through Japan I’ll come across something that makes me forget everything else that’s going on in my life. At those moments I wish I could just stop time and stay there forever.

      • Therese says:

        Are you planning a trip to Myanmar, by any chance? 4 days is sufficient for Yangon, but there are tons more to see north of Yangon. I’m going back there to see the rest of the stuff soon. (getting the tourist visa is such a drag, though)

      • lmjapan says:

        I’m slowly trying to see all of Asia so I will eventually get to Myanmar. We try and go to Japan once a year, and we decided to start adding on another Asian country to also visit as a side trip. In a little over a week we’ll be leaving for Hong Kong and Japan. I’m really hoping to do Singapore next year!

Leave a Reply

