Circle Line, Yangon Style.

If I had all the time in the world, I would travel by train to everywhere. The rhythmic crank-rumble sound from the tracks and the movements of the train can get quite soothing. Being on a train allows me to see the scenery passing, and I am less likely to be car-sick on a train. I can stick my head out of a window and get food. I see people getting on, people going on their lives and people getting off. A train can be used as a metaphor for life, no?

 photo P1010937_zps66c1d9ff.jpg
The train coming into the station at Yangon.

One not so sunny day in Yangon, I boarded a train on the Circle Line. This journey took me slightly over 3 hours. A passenger can either choose to go in a clockwise direction, or an anti-clockwise direction. The span of time between trains is about 2 hours. I remember seeing a train at 8.40am, and 10.10am. Do schedule this trip early in the day in case you miss all the trains for the day.

To find this train, one has to know where the Yangon Central station is located. Next, this person has to find platform 7, and this is not as straightforward as it should be.

The Yangon Central is located on Bogyoke Aung San Road. The obvious entrance is not the one you should be looking for. The obvious entrance leads to trains going to other cities. To find platform 7, walk towards this bridge located near 38th Street:

 photo P1010977_zps5f705849.jpg
This is near Ruby Mart.

You need to get on this bridge. Walk away from Ruby Mart. There might be a huge crowd moving towards you. Walk to where they came from. Soon, you will come to this:

 photo P1010974_zpsb19d1f06.jpg
The entrance to platform 7

Look slightly confused, and one of the staff will point you towards the station office on the middle of the platform. You can get a round-trip ticket from this office for US$1. I was not asked to show my passport but I was asked to write my country of origin on the receipt.

I was ushered to a carriage with 4-seaters. I heard that it might be better to be in the carriage with side seats, but I liked my carriage. Side seats may make me carsick, which is not a pleasant experience to have in a foreign country.

 photo P1010938_zps54c10efb.jpg
A ticket conductor fixing the fans in the carriage.

This was mainly a sightseeing trip. During the 3 hours I was on the train, I saw people move in and out of the carriage. On their way to the market. On their way home. On their way to the main part of the city. It seemed as if I was the only stationary one on the train.

 photo P1010942_zps76375a9a.jpg
A girl dozing off due to the rhythm of the train.

 photo P1010949_zpsf6ae46cd.jpg
The people on the train going in the other direction.

 photo P1010945_zpsa0932887.jpg
A monk and a man taking it easy on the train.

 photo P1010953_zps589ec000.jpg
A random station in the middle of nowhere.

Somewhere between the 2nd and the 3rd hour, the train arrived at a market. It was so colourful and full of bustle that I woke up and began taking pictures.

 photo P1010961_zpsbbaccab2.jpg

I was amused by vegetable hawkers selling vegetables beneath my window.

 photo P1010959_zps289e4b8d.jpg
Vegetables might be cheap here, but I think the minimum amount is what my family will eat in a week!

The Circle Line is such a big part of the lives of Yangonites that they put their laundry on the train tracks to dry. It does make sense, since the train tracks were hot from the sun. There is no need for an iron!

 photo P1010972_zpsa7a94af7.jpg

This train ride is good if you wish to see how life in Yangon is like outside the main part of the city. I am not sure if I was allowed to get off the train but I did not want to risk this in case I had to buy another foreigner ticket to get back on the train.

I might consider getting on this train in a decade, to see how much Yangon has changed.

This entry was posted in Asia, Myanmar and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Circle Line, Yangon Style.

  1. simplysuzu says:

    Ha, such a little adventure for you. I heard about this circle train from some of my foreign coworkers and I read it in some blogs, but to be really honest, I have never taken a ride in it as far as I can remember. I don’t even know where the nearest station from my house is. The seats and the inside of the train seem to be in quite good condition, though, compared to most of the buses.

Leave a Reply

