Patata Tortilla

I think I am getting domesticated. Meow. This will be the second recipe I post here.

While I was in Spain, I was addicted to the patata tortilla. It was my #1 bar food to get.

A couple of weeks ago, I went to a picnic with an international blend of girls. We learn Tahiti Dance together.

 photo 701_418278354946572_807757813_n_zpsc4e16a2d.jpg
Us at Botanic Gardens ♥, after giving a free performance to people around us. I stole this off the Tahiti Dance Facebook page.

Since Tahiti is a French colony, many girls in this group are of French origin. They wanted to taste patata tortilla after I let slip that I have a recipe for it.

Fine. What could go wrong?

____________________________________________________________________________________

Ingredients

– Eggs (2 per person)
– Potatoes
– Onion (1 large onion for 4 people)
– Olive oil
– Optional; green pepper, aubergine…

1. Peel and dice the potatoes. The slices must be of a similar size.

2. Fry the potatoes and the onions. The onion needs 10 minutes to be nicely browned.

3. Beat the eggs.

4. Once the potatoes and the onions are done, drain the oil from the mixture. Put the potatoes and eggs into the bowl with the eggs. Add a pinch of salt to this mixture according to your liking. Mash the potatoes with a fork so they will absorb the egg mixture better. Let the mixture rest for 5-10 minutes.

5. Pour olive oil into a long-handled pan and fry the mixture with a wooden spatula. While cooking the egg, move the pan in order not to let it burn. Once the bottom is a nice golden colour (you will have to guess), tip it on a plate and back on the pan in order to fry the other side.

__________________________________________________________________________

I peeled and diced the potatoes to this size:
 photo IMG_20130602_113228_zps8fc1757b.jpg

Next came the onion. My weakness. I almost wept from the fumes. So, no pictures.

Frying stuff always makes me nervous (I rather just boil and steam stuff), but I seemed to have passed that stage pretty okay. I let the egg soak into the potatoes and onions a little.

 photo IMG_20130602_122744_zpsc0698cea.jpg
So far so good!

Actually, everything went fine until the last part – making the actual tortilla shape. I used my mother’s double-handled pan instead of my smaller long-handled pan, so it was difficult for me to move and flip the tortilla with a plate.

So, it became scrambled eggs with potatoes.
 photo IMG_20130602_124900_zps47e75329.jpg
Oh well. It tasted fine, and the girls seemed to enjoy eating it.

I will try again soon.

This entry was posted in Europe, Food, Spain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

