My Return to Indonesia?

In 2009, I was an exchange student at the Universitas Gajah Mada – only the top university in Indonesia. (Yes yes, whatever you Universitas Indonesia people say…) One evening, a friend took me to the Tugu Jogja monument in the middle of the student-town and I touched it. He told me that anybody who touches the monument will return to Yogyakarta one day. 4 years after my exchange semester, I have yet to entertain thoughts of returning to that town. So I thought that was just an unfounded myth.

Until today.

I guess mysterious things do happen in Southeast Asia.


Me, circa 2009. I was wearing the official Universitas Gajah Mada jacket and a shirt about Sukarno. It was the bee’s knees.


The fateful moment.

I am planning my next trip out of Singapore (already, yes). Since Le Boyfriend will be coming to this part of the world in August/September, I am looking at places I have not been to in this region. Right now, it’s a toss up between Indonesia (he always wanted to go to Indonesia) and the Philippines (I have been wanting to go to the Philippines since my 4th year in university.) Since he will be here for 3 weeks (!!♥), I suppose we can visit both countries. But much research and study is needed before the trip.

Since I am a little bit more familiar with Indonesia than he is, I am reading up on places to go in Indonesia. The Karimunjawa Islands sound like heaven on earth, but it is not served by many travelling options. And there’s the lack of internet. (I am a little spoilt in this way)

Beaches on the Java archipelago are amazing.


The fine, warm sand ♥ on Parangtritis beach near the city of Yogyakarta.

I am remembering the feel of that sand between my toes when I see that picture. Yummy… So tempting!

Are there any places in Indonesia or the Philippines which you think are awesome? Do share!

This entry was posted in Asia, Future Plans, Indonesia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Return to Indonesia?

  1. Oh…. Sounds good. Definitely Karimunjawa is worth a try. I also really like the cool air of Dieng and the beaches around pangandaran and batu karas. And then of course bromo. So yeah, I’m a fan. 🙂

    • Therese says:

      Do you know an easy way to reach that place? It doesn’t sound quite accessible from Yogyakarta.

      • I think it’s fair to say that most people think it’s too much of a hassle, but it’s not that bad really unless you’re on tight schedule.

        From yogya, you need to catch a bus to Jepara. That’s not too difficult and there is probably one that goes directly there or very close. The worst case scenario is to catch a bus to Semarang and then change for a short bus ride to Jepara. You’ll have to sleep overnight in Jepara and the next day you should be able to get a boat to Katimunjawa although the schedule is not a daily schedule. Then basically the same on the way back. It is so worth going there and if it was as easy as flying there, it’d be overrun with too many people. 🙂

      • Therese says:

        This is useful! Terima kasih, ya, Mas! I will do more research on which bus and where but this is a good starting point! 🙂

Leave a Reply

