5 Reasons Why Travelling Solo in India is Not So Scary!

India is a country I would love to revisit (not with a tour group) and this post gives me hope and courage!

The Shooting Star

I remember the first time I took a train by myself from my small hometown to the big bad city of Delhi. While dropping me off, my mother announced to everyone sitting around me that I’d be alone for the journey, in the hope that some good soul would look out for me. I felt like a fresh wound exposed to the elements of nature. All stares & smiles I received on that train ride felt sinister. I wasn’t half as mortified to be journeying alone as I was in realizing that everyone around me knew it. Not much has changed for solo trips that start at home (and that’s a story for another day), but I’ve come a long way, stuffing my pockets with solo adventures.

View original post 685 more words

This entry was posted in Asia, Future Plans, India, Reblogged and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 Reasons Why Travelling Solo in India is Not So Scary!

  1. yqtravelling says:

    Not to be a wet blanket but I suspect it will be a different experience travelling in India as a non-South Asian looking person. I’ve gotten plenty of stares in Sri Lanka (some from cute children, some from annoying teens)..

    • Therese says:

      Oh dear. But I hope you had no trouble that was too terrible? People who look different always get attention anyway. What about the way they treated you? Is it all right?

Leave a Reply

