Olite of Navarre.

I was exploring local tourist spots in the Spanish Basque Country, and I was quite happy to do so. In fact, I think backpacking should be about exploring the local tourist sites! The usual tourist spots (Madrid, Barcelona, Seville etc) in Spain receive a lot of attention; what about the local tourist spots?

Le Boyfriend definitely brought me to the local tourist spots: many signs are written only in Spanish. No English signs! Sadly, soy no comprendo y hablo espanol! He had to translate. Oh well, he gets to practice his English. I suppose that’s why he’s dating me. 😛

We (or rather, he. I don’t drive) drove to Olite after getting off the train at Pamplona/Iruna. Olite was the old seat of Navarre royalty during the Middle Ages.

 photo P1010743_zps143ddac9.jpg
The entrance to the castle. Part of this castle had been converted into a parador, a place for travelers to stay in. It’s a piece of history but be prepared to pay up to €200 per night for a twin sharing room.
 photo P1010744_zps27fd20f5.jpg
This can tell the story of this castle better than I can.

The castle seemed quite impregnable, and the village was primed for defense. When I stepped into the village/town, I felt I should have put on something more appropriate. Like this:
 photo P1010788_zps08c95924.jpg

To see what I mean, check out the view from the top of the castle.

 photo P1010750_zps1a5187af.jpg

 photo P1010749_zpsedb08f50.jpg

I definitely need to wear that costume if I return.

The interior of the castle is cold, and this observation was not made because I am used to tropical temperatures; Le Boyfriend said the same thing. I thought he would brush the temperature off as ‘refreshing’ (stoic Basque man!!). I suppose this was due to the castle being made of stone, and we were in an area of Navarre with mountains. I.E: lower temperatures.

We passed the first floor, which was mainly made up of support beams.
 photo P1010745_zps17b3b68e.jpg
There was nothing much to see here, so we went up the spiral staircase. It was very narrow, and very steep. I suppose people back in the Middle Ages were of a smaller build. I’ve noticed similar narrow staircases in the ancient temples in Indonesia.

After making our way to the second floor, we were greeted by the Queen’s chambers.
 photo P1010746_zpsdb749594.jpg
I’m one of the wanderers in this castle fridge.

The fireplace in that place was huge! I wonder how long the queen froze if the fire went out. Another beautiful spot in this area was the Queen’s garden.

 photo P1010751_zps42bf9523.jpg
This beautiful garden was where the Queen spent her free time. Apparently, she’s kept here to guard her chastity so her surroundings are kept as comfortable as possible. The existence of vines on the wall hint at visits from secret lovers in the night…

We climbed up to the ramparts and was rewarded with a splendid view of Olite, and caught a couple of nesting birds in action on the chimney.

 photo P1010757_zps193f74d1.jpg
Le Boyfriend picked them out from a distance. Apparently, it is a good omen that we were able to see this as a couple. ♥

Olite the town/village was quiet; it was Monday when we visited it, and he says it’s common for suburb places to be empty while everyone else moves towards the city for work.

 photo P1010763_zpse1e5dd6c.jpg
A meandering street with high walls. They took their defense seriously.

I visited the church briefly. As I said in my previous post, the Basques used to take Catholicism seriously. Europe had all the beautiful gothic style churches, while Asia and Latin America had all the Catholics.

I spent a few minutes admiring the cravings on this beauty of a church building.

 photo P1010761_zpsaa37f3db.jpg
 photo P1010760_zps7e2f0714.jpg
12 apostles and the Virgin Mary.

The entrance fee into the castle is €3,50 – not too bad for a few hours of exploring castle nooks and crannies. However, getting to Olite can be troublesome without a map and a car. I saw no public transport into this place. I guess the Spanish Basque Country has to improve its public transport system before any international tourists would consider coming deep into this region. I see this as a ‘chicken-or-egg’ situation.

Edit: I managed to find the pamphlet for the Royal Palace of Olite in my mess room. It’s here for your reading pleasure. Obviously, they did a better job at describing the place. (Picture below opens into a more readable format.)



This entry was posted in Europe, Spain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

