Kabuki in Tokyo.

No, I’m not talking about this:
Photobucket
Picture from Filipina Glitters.

But this:
Photobucket
Sakichi, the loyal retainer, a character from Arakawa no Sakichi. Played by Ichikawa Somegoro VII. Picture sent by Kazue Yabe.

During my undergraduate days in NUS, I attended a class on Japanese culture and the lecturer showed a video of a Kabuki performance during class. (He also showed a Noh play – I dozed off after a minute of intense, forced concentration) I enjoyed that video tremendously, so I thought I should watch a Kabuki performance while in Japan. Here’s a taste of a kabuki performance if you have yet to lay eyes on one:

This is not the performance I watched, but this is the only one I could find on youtube – and the English commentary comes with the audio guide (600 yen).

Being a Kabuki novice (an idiot, actually), I was quite clueless what to watch. Should I watch that classic? Or that one with the very interesting scandal weaved into it? Should I watch a matinee or an evening show? Also, my grasp of the Japanese language is limited to short sentences (e.g: Excuse me, where is the toilet?) – it is certainly not enough to understand a whole play in classical Japanese. Another problem I encountered was the ordering of tickets online – I had to be in Japan to get the good seats.

Therefore, I did some research, and found this Japanese lady who could get tickets and explain the Kabuki play for me. For a good introduction to the world of Kabuki plays, please contact Kazui Yabe-san – the Tokyo Kabuki Guide.

PhotobucketThis is her. Kazui Yabe-san. We were standing in front of the Shimbashi Embujô.

I watched Arakawa no Sakichi and Yamashina Kankyo. A synopsis of both plays can be found on this website.

Yabe-san sent me Christmas greetings (Merry Christmas to you too, Yabe-san!) and some scans from a Kabuki magazine via email recently. So, I include a couple of scans here.
Photobucket
Arakawa no Sakichi.

Photobucket
Yamashina Kankyo.

I enjoyed Arakawa no Sakichi tremendously. I even burst into a waterfall of tears near the end of the first half. I wasn’t the only one – 2 Japanese ladies beside me were sniffling away. Yamashina Kankyo was sleep-inducing. I guess that means I should stick to contemporary Kabuki plays.

For the uninitiated, all performers in a Kabuki play are all men. Even for the feminine roles – and they are convincing. Until you scrutinise the actors. The first Kabuki performer was a female (Izumo no Okuni) in Kyoto. Female performers were banned after a while, as the authorities deemed the performances to be too erotic. It then switched to an all-male cast. My Japanese friends say that Kabuki is better in Kyoto (since it started there), but watching it in Tokyo is a lot easier since I don’t have to get tickets on my own.

Yabe-san starts her session with some traditional Japanese green tea and sweets.

Photobucket
The tea is bitter but tastes perfect with the sweet. So take a bite of the sweet before taking a sip of the powdered green tea. At this tea house, she will bring out her notes and explain the context of the play. It’s sort of like a mini-lecture. At the end of it, she will pass you some notes about the plays in English. She walks to the theatre with me, sprouting Kabuki information along the way. We pick up a bento and an audio guide outside the theatre (bentos are cheaper outside the theatre) for me.

Photobucket

I’m sitting in the theatre – eating my bento and trying to read those notes before the play starts. I didn’t finish reading.

Photobucket
The lights dim, and the play starts. As we were forbidden to take pictures or videos during the performance, I put away my camera, like a good Singaporean. I had a class 2A seat.

Half-time came along, and the stage assistant comes out to lay the ‘snow’ for the next play.

Photobucket

This is one of the highlights of watching a Kabuki play live. This and getting snacks from the snack stalls in the theatre.

Photobucket

My thoughts after watching a Kabuki play?

Photobucket
Nothing beats the real deal. Actually, I have a picture in the Japanese context: Photobucket HAHAHAHAH.

Merry Christmas, everyone! There are 12 days of Christmas, after all.

This entry was posted in Asia, Japan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

