The Nomad Damsel.

I have a distaste for travel agents, much to the dismay of my mother. She is unable to understand why I don’t want to go on holiday with a travel agent who will arrange everything for me while on holiday – right down to the food I eat.

(You know those travel agents who feed their tour groups only rice and vegetables if nobody buys anything from the overpriced tourist store? Yes, them. I’m avoiding them.)

She says, “Why do you want to worry about food and your accommodation while on holiday? Why do you want to stay in a hostel when you can afford to stay in a 4 or 5-star hotel?”

You see, Mother. That is the fun of it.
When I travel, I don’t want to meet other Singaporeans. I can do that in Singapore, without spending a cent. I want to meet people from other countries. I wish to listen to tales of another culture and see the world through that person’s eyes.

I will probably never approach a travel agent for a ‘package tour’. Sorry, Mum.

This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

